Mission Accomplished – Day 29

The bathroom is complete and it is the end of the 7th week. The contractor came around 10:20 am and left at 3:00pm with Mission Accomplished – however, he was not wearing a flight suit and I don’t have any photos of him standing on a flight deck.

image

image

The first thing the contractor said when he walked into the bathroom to start work this morning was  “that looks good!” The last time he saw the project the tile wasn’t finished and the lights and the plumbing fixtures hadn’t been set. I know he is particular about the details. So I was glad to see he approved.

image

image

Since I hire my own subs the contractor, the plumbers, the electricians, and the tile setter are not familiar with each other or the quality of their work. This can create a tricky situation since good general contractors are very particular about their subs and have a great deal of trust in the quality of work done by their subs.

However, everyone did an excellent job and was careful on the job site. So my project went smoothly and I didn’t incur additional costs or head aches. When a homeowner hires subcontractors separately and one of them damages the others work or finds that work of another contractor was installed in a manner that does not allow him to finish his job, the homeowner must negotiate between the subs and may incur additional costs to have the work repaired or done correctly. Fortunately, for us everything went smoothly.

So how long did this really take? Twenty-nine working days. We have had several down days in the few last weeks. I only blogged on days when contractors worked and on days when we had things to do. The project didn’t go particularly fast nor particularly slow. Work on the basement and extensive plumbing only added two or three days of work.

I am VERY pleased with the outcome. It is nice to have a bathroom that has more room and with a toilet hidden from view. But I am glad it is done and my family and I can move on to other things, like soaking in my tub!

I have had fun writing this blog, it served as a therapy outlet. Thank you for your comments and for being a patient ear as the project moved along. I hope you have had fun reading it. Stay tuned for the party with cocktails. There will be a FB invite.

If you are interested in what materials where used on the job it is a separate post. I will also put together an blog entry with more photos.

To celebrate the day I would like to share a toast and a cocktail adapted from Aviation Gin website.

image

The Barry Cocktail

  • 1 oz dry Gin
  • 1 oz Ransom Sweet Vermouth
  • 1 tsp Luxardo Maraschino Liquior
  • 1 tsp raki (Turkish Ouzo)
  • Dash of Orange Bitters

Shake with ice. Strain into a glass with ice cubes. Garnish with mint

Leave a Reply

